My Interview at Barnes and Noble

That’s right book nerds, I had an interview at Barnes and Noble. Actually, I had two interviews.

The first interview was this past Wednesday. I think that I was at the top of my game. I walked in and was confident, spoke eloquently, and portrayed my love of books well enough while not saying “I love books” too many times over. I was getting the vibe that I did great. But at the end of the interview, the lady interviewing me said, “Usually you would go straight into an interview with the store manager after this, and he is here today, but I am going to have you rescheduled because if he saw you in this outfit, he would bar you from this position. We do not allow any denim, plain tee shirts, or sneakers.”

Do you know what I was wearing?

That’s right.

Nice, clean, non-ripped skinny jeans, White converse, and a plain olive green tee shirt (which was nicer than most tee shirts if I do say so myself). Anyways, I failed that portion of the test, but was thankful that I got to reschedule.

On Thursday night, my husband (gosh, I love writing that), Mr.B, and I went shopping for “business casual” clothing and I cried because apparently I am two and emotionally challenged. I couldn’t find anything that didn’t look like something from my mother’s closet. Even and Forever 21 and H&M. It was a sad night in our household. It all ended with finding a business skirt.

Going to all your favorite stores, and not finding anything that fits you right is a major blow to your self-esteem and body image. It hurts, man! Also, I was still a little peeved that I couldn’t dress up as a hipster Belle. Come on, Barnes and Noble! I’m applying to work in a bookstore, not a bank! Give this girl some fashion freedom!

The next morning, aka the morning of the interview, aka Friday, I ran to Kohls and was able to find THREE shirts that were business casual and still cute. Yay, me! I was feeling excited and ready for this interview!

The interview went great, and I was able to keep the conversation easy and flowing. Talking with the store manager was making me even more excited to possibly be a part of this team! At the end when he asked if I had any questions for him, I asked about scheduling and flexibility.

He informed me of the pay and the part-time hours I would be receiving. Let’s just say, it was tiny pay, on minimal hours. Ouch. I said that I am still interested in this position, but would need to find another part time job and would he be willing to work with me on that? He said no. That I would need completely availability to work when they needed. At least he was honest.

I left not knowing what to do.

So I went shopping at Half Priced Books where I can actually afford to buy books. Seriously Ya’ll, you NEED to buy your books at HPB. It’s fantastic.

While I was shopping, a lady walked up to me and asked, “Excuse me, do you have a section dedicated to Shakespeare?” I explained I didn’t work there and an idea dawned on my flattered soul. I should work at Half Priced Books!

All of this to say, I am turning down the job at Barnes and Noble and pursuing a career at HPB.

To answer any questions,

No, I do not yet have a job at HPB, I have only applied.

Yes, I am crazy for turning down a job for one that I don’t even have.

But I am taking my chances and praying for the best!

There’s my update. Does anybody have experience with Half Priced Books or Barnes and Noble?

See ya Book nerds!

~Rebekah J.

 

P.S. Half Priced Book Haul coming tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

