2016 · Fiction · Reviews

Someone Like You by Roald Dahl

someone-like-you-icon

The story of my picking up this book starts after a bad job interview. It was bad because I really didn’t want the job, the interview went well, I was offered the job, and well… Let’s just say I didn’t take it. But! As any rational person would do, I went to the back corner of the library to cry and look at books until I could calm down. And alas! It ended well because by chance I came across a section of Roald Dahl books, but not just any Roald Dahl books, books he had written for adults.

Did anyone else think that Roald Dahl only wrote children’s books?! Since he is my favorite author I needed this book.

Start Date: November 8th, 2016

End Date: November 11th, 2016

About The Book (Goodreads)

There’s the gambler who collects little fingers from losers…there’s the lady who murders her husband with a frozen leg of lamb…not to mention the man who has made a machine that can hear grass scream…Roald Dahl’s particular brand of bizarre, alarming and disturbing story-telling has already attracted a huge following which can only be more disturbed, alarmed and – thankfully – amused by ‘Someone Like You’.

What I Love

Someone Like You is a collection of short-stories that are witty and clever. Each story is different, but similar, taking realistic situations and twisting them in a way that you didn’t see before.

Thoughts I had while reading,

“Ha! I see what you did there…”

“Mr.Dahl! How did you go from this to Matilda!”

“OH MY GOSH. GENIUS”

“That was. no. wait. what? oh my gosh…”

What I Didn’t Like as Much

In some of the stories the dialogue carries on longer than I care for.

“Okay, yes, I get it, the couch is green.”

A Tiny Taste

“I have always liked the process of commuting; every phase of the little journey is a pleasure to me. There is a regularity about it that is agreeable and comforting to a person of habit, and in addition, it serves as a sort of slipway along which I am gently but firmly launched into the water of daily business routine.”

This reminds me of my daily commute when I was living in NYC ❤

About the Author

Roald Dahl was a British novelist, short story writer and screenwriter of Norwegian descent, who rose to prominence in the 1940’s with works for both children and adults, and became one of the world’s bestselling authors.

(Why Didn’t Anybody Ever Tell Me This?!)

Until Next Time,

~R

4 thoughts on “Someone Like You by Roald Dahl

  1. So glad you enjoyed it, after your difficult interview! (Sorry that happened, btw. No fun!) I still haven’t read anything by Dahl. I’ve been told to start with James and the Giant Peach, but I may go with Matilda since I loooooved the movie, growing up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

