2016 · Wanderings

Is It Alright to Give Up On A Book?

9781447283317Alrighty, discussion post.

I used to believe that if you start a book you have to finish it. I would hold books hostage in my currently-reading shelf on Goodreads for months, telling myself that I could not start another book until I finished this one or I would avoid finishing it by reading every book except that one. I would dread picking it up again. I used to give myself major guilt over not being into a book or not wanting to continue on with a series.

I want to encourage all you fellow readers that if you don’t want to finish a book or book series, you don’t have to! There are so many books in the world that even if you read two books a day, you will never read them all, and new ones are constantly being published.

Don’t waste your time reading something that bores you! This is with the exception of books that you previously committed yourself to read for a publisher or was assigned for a class.

I bring this up because I got about 30 pages into Yes Please by Amy Poehler and while it was funny, I just wasn’t interested. So I am putting it down and I’m not going to feel guilty. Maybe I’ll pick it up again in the future, but for now I am moving on. I’m letting go and frankly, I’m kind of proud of myself.

What is your opinion? Do you believe in finishing every book you pick up? What books or book series did you give up on?

Until Next Time,

~R

5 thoughts on “Is It Alright to Give Up On A Book?

  1. I’ve only ever DNF’ed one book, and there are books that I just flat out won’t read for one reason or another. It is okay to DNF a book, I’m actually going to do a discussion post on this sometime in the near future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand the guilt that you feel. I think we perhaps feel it even more because we run book blogs! We feel as though it’s almost our duty to complete every book we pick up.

    I agree with you, though. It’s okay to give up on books if you don’t derive any pleasure from them. I stopped reading a book recently because its content made me insanely uncomfortable. Why continue when I could find a much more enjoyable book, one I wouldn’t dread picking up?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t prefer to give up on books. But since blogging, I’m very quickly changing my mind. Why waste time on a book that you don’t like or will take you forever to read when you could be reading something enjoyable? That’s why I feel that it’s definitely OK to put down a book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

