2016 · Fiction · Reviews

My Lady Jane by Hand, Ashton, Meadows

my-lady-jane-icon

Last Friday I was at the Library forcing myself to finish Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban. As I was leaving I thought I should just browse the shelves and I saw My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. I have been seeing so many book bloggers talking about this book for months, and behold it was in my own library! So I got it, and no regrets are going to be given because it was wonderful. There is something about this book that makes me want to hold it and read its words over and over again.

Start Date: October 29th, 2016

End Date: November 1st, 2016

About the Book

Edward, the King of England is dying. Which sucks because he is sixteen and hasn’t had his first kiss yet. But because of his upcoming death, he decides that his cousin and best friend Jane is to marry Gifford… who happens to become a horse from dawn to dusk. Nobody is happy with this arrangement, but the plot thickens as Edward, Jane, and Gifford are drawn into a dangerous conspiracy. They have to figure out how to save the Kingdom, as well as themselves before it is off with their heads!

Come on now,  a book about a dying king, and a sixteen year old girl marrying a horse? You have to read a story about that.

Something you should know before picking up this book is that it is written for comedic relief, it is not supposed to be a thrilling novel with twists and turns, so make sure you are in the right mood for this type of read, otherwise you might not enjoy it.

That being said, the prologue was funny, intriguing, and the narrators of the story give you  all the information you need to know, even a pronunciation lesson which I appreciated very much.

I would say that the writing is a middle school reading level, but with high school topics haha. For example, I wouldn’t hand this to someone younger than 15.

What I Loved

I really like this book. The story flows freely and the writing meshed into my mind well, meaning that it was easy for me to become absorbed into their world. The authors did steal a lot of famous and modern quotes which sometimes made me laugh while other times deserved eye rolls.

The book is the perfect size, it’s pretty, and the paper is like thick parchment. It was hard for me to put it down, mostly because I just wanted to hold it. This weekend my family was having a Gilmore Girl marathon and between each episode I made them pause so I could read a chapter. I needed to finish it!

I like part two of the book better because it had more laugh out loud humor. I laughed at a line so explosively that it scared my cat off my bed lol.

What I appreciated about this book was that all the characters showed the immaturity of their age. They acted like sixteen year olds in these crazy situations. Their actions, thoughts, and feelings were totally realistic.

What I Didn’t Like As Much

I couldn’t relate to any of the characters. I tried, I really did! But everyone is too perfect- the biggest flaws are the crooked nose on Dudley who is evil anyways, and Jane’s crazy red hair.

Also, WE GET IT. JANE IS A BOOKWORM. YOU DON’T NEED TO SAY IT EVERY TWO PAGES. I love my fellow book worms, but it was getting annoying.

A Tiny Taste

“As G’s eyes adjusted to the scene before him, he saw Edward raise a … fire poker?… and Jane pull out… a frying pan?

Whose cockamamie idea were these weapons? Probably Jane’s. They seemed like Jane’s idea of weapons.”

– My Lady Jane, Hand, Ashton, Meadows.

For Bookshelf of Borrowing?

Bookshelf- so I can look at it and force other people to read it.

I already know that the longer I go without reading this book, the more my brain will fall in love with the idea of it, though I’m not sure that I will read it again myself.

About The Authors

Brodi Ashton– author of the Everneath series and Diplomatic Immunity

Cynthia Hand– New York Time bestselling author of the Unearthly series and The Last Time We Say Goodbye (Which is fantastic by the way).

Jodi Meadows– Author of the Incarnate and Orphan Queen series.

Now I am going to dive into the spoiler section of this review, if you don’t want to be spoiled then turn back now! I’ve warned you!

Until Next Time,

~R

 

 

**SPOILER SECTION** TURN BACK NOW**

 

You still have time to turn back!

*

*

*

*

I just need to talk about Gracie for a second. Of course she was fox lol, oh the irony. She is braver and more kick-butt than Jane, but she is also very insecure.

Then there is Mary- All I can say is, if your little brother took the throne from you and gave it your cousin, wouldn’t you be upset too? Sure her ways were unorthodox, but come on now.

Also, I was so weirded out when I found out that Pet was a human girl. Like.. #awkward.

Oh my gosh! G’s loving and tender support when Jane became queen and she was scared-sigh, my hopeless romantic side was fulfilled.

When Edward made Bess queen I was not expecting it which made it so cliché. And there ladies and gentlmen is how we got Queen Elizabeth. That was very humorous to me!

And lastly, My two favorite quotes that had me laughing out loud:

“No horse jokes,” he said.

“My lord, I apologize for the horse joke. If you put down the book- unharmed! – I will give you a carrot.”

He brandished the book at her, “Was that a horse joke?”

“Neigh.”

“Was that a horse joke?”

“Well, changing because of the position of the sun definitely sounds like a curse tome, ” Jane argued.

“Me too.” Edward frowned. “I think it’s likely that Gifford was cursed, and Jane, you got this curse because you married him. Which means this is partially my fault. I’m so sorry.”

Jane touched Edward’s arm, consolingly. “It’s not your fault.” Gifford gave another loud snort, and something large and ploppy dropped from his hindquarters. He never had the best manners in his horse form.”- My Lady Jane, Hand, Ashton, Meadows

Until Next Time,

~R

 

Leave a Reply

