Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban

5Oh my gosh, you guys. I did it. I finished it and I am so proud of myself. It took me 20 days to finish this book and holy moly it took me 19 of those days to read 49% of it.

To finish reading this book, it took banning myself to the back corner of my local library and dissolving into the story for three hours.

I think my problem was that I read the first two books in four days so I was just burned. out. and not ready to take on book three. Once I forced myself to finish it, I really liked it. This is probably my favorite in the series so far.

Start Date: October 8th, 2016

Finish Date: October 28th, 2016

 

About The Book (From Goodreads)

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

What I Loved

To be honest, I loved how frustrating it was. I loved how the entire Wizarding world took every precaution to protect Harry and Harry was his sassy self and did what he wanted.

I actually don’t know how to write this part without spoilers. Let’s just say the feud between Ron and Hermione through the entire book, Harry and Professor Lupin, Hermione taking all the classes, sigh. This was a good book.

A Tiny Taste

“You think the dead we have loved ever truly leave us? You think that we don’t recall them more clearly than ever in times of great trouble? Your father is alive in you, Harry, and shows himself most plainly when you have need of him. How else could you produce that particular Patronus? Prongs rode again last night.”… And then I remembered the most unusual form your Patronus took, when it charged Mr. Malfoy down at your Quidditch match against Ravenclaw. So you did see your father last night, Harry. . . . You found him inside yourself.”

For Bookshelf or Borrowing?

Bookshelf. I would read this book again. It good on it’s own.

About The Author

J.K. Rowling is the author of the beloved, best-selling, record-braking Harry Potter series. She started writing the series during a delayed Manchester to London King’s Cross train journay, and during the next five years, outlined the plots for each book and began writing the first novel. J.K. Rowling is the recipient of numerous awards and honorary degrees.

Extras:

More Aout J.K. Rowling

Movie Trailor

Goodreads

Magical World of Pottermore

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban

Leave a Reply

