LumberJanes by Stevenson. Ellis. Watters. Allen.

SAM_4668.JPG

I’m not going to lie, I was super-duper excited for this book.

Lumber Janes Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy is a collection of the first four comics of the LumberJanes series. It is set up as a guide-book for Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp for hard-core lady-types.

First of all, I can’t get over the ridiculousness of that name. I mean come on.

In 2015 I read Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and I fell in love with her storytelling and illustrations and knew I wanted to read more. So when I heard that she had this series out it was a no brainer for me.

Except maybe I should have done a little more research.

I don’t know what I was expecting, but this sure wasn’t it. This is book seems like it is written for the 10-14 age range, which isn’t a bad thing! It’s just not a my reading level or enjoyment level.

SAM_4664.JPG

I absolutely loved the all of the colors and the illustrations, but the storyline and the range of emotions and lack of plot is what I’m stuck on.

SAM_4666.JPG

It was cute and I would recommend this for a gift for your niece, younger sister, grand-daughter. It is a clean, quick story that encourages “hard-core lady types.” This would also be a good gift for young art lovers, they can pour over all of the beautiful illustrations.

So while this isn’t my cup of tea, I am going to give this a gift to a young girl I care about.

I know this is a short review, but my words escape me.

Alright you crazy animals, I’m outta here.

Leave a Reply

