Reviews

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“We are all someone’s monster”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Heeeeey.

So there has been a little bit of absence from me that I want to talk about. I recently got a new job (yay!!!!) and I have been in this weird transition period where I am working 9am-2:30 at one job and 3:oopm-11pm at the new job. So let’s just say that any energy I have goes to eating. I can’t even stay awake on the subway for my life. Which means I haven’t had much time or desire to read. ugh. BUT, here I am with a book review and little note saying that I’m trying and I need your help to stay motivated. Also, we are taking break from the daily quotes. Anyways, let’s get on to the review!

I have some mixed feelings here. Let me tell you what it’s about and then we’ll get on to the deciding what I think about it part.

Six of Crows is about a group of six teenagers living the fictional world of Ketterdam where anything can be had for the right price. The story opens with Kaz Brekker, also known as dirty hands, being offered and opportunity at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams, but he can’t do it alone so he goes about hiring his crew.

Kaz- a convict with a thirst for revenge.

Jesper- a sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager

Wylan- a runaway with a privileged past.

Inej- a spy known as the Wraith

Nina- a heartrender using her magic to survive the slums

Matthais- a thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

This gang is the only ones who stand between the world and destruction if they can keep from killing each other. This story is told from five perspectives and is epic, huge, complicated and can get a bit confusing. It’s non-stop action from the first page until the last word. There was barely and time to breathe and digest what was happening, which I liked and didn’t like at the same time. I liked the constant actions because I just wanted to find out what happened, but It was also a little too much at times.

I love all of the characters and the dynamic of the group. I have never read a book with more than two perspectives, but instead of being crazy, Leigh Bardugo pulled it off brilliantly. Each character has their own story, their own past, their own reasons for going on this mission. We get to see how their past and reasoning affect the decisions and how those decisions effect the group.

“The heart is an arrow. It demands aim to land true. Be decisive, you have to know where you want to go before you get there.”

I’m not going to lie, this book is so confusing at first, especially if you have no clue what you’re getting into. I picked this book up because I had heard the name a few times and thought I would give it a shot. Bardugo does such a great job with creating and bringing her readers into the intricate world of Ketterdam. Once I understood what was going on I became obsessed.

The group leader is an anti-hero which brings major love from me! So, so many books focus on the heroes or the chosen ones, but we get to watch the workings of the villan. The female characters are kick-butt and feminine, but not useless. They don’t make a point of trying to rise above or be better than the guys by going against their nature. They are just themselves doing what they need to do. I love the equality in the characters.

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

And my favorite part about books? The romance. This is not a romance book. Let me repeat.

THIS. IS. NOT. A ROMANCE. BOOK.

There are little sprinklings of romance throughout, but it all feels natural and unobtrusive. Like it is inevitable, but not the main theme.

“She’d laughed, and if he could have bottled the sound and gotten drunk on it every night, he would have. It terrified him.”

I really liked this book, and now that I understand the world I’m probably going to have to go back and reread so I’m ready for the next in the series.

I would say that this is a book for borrowing. Read it twice then pass it on to a friend.

Alright you crazy animals, I’m outta here.

“No mourners, no funerals. (Sign for good luck)”

SAM_4648.JPG

Leave a Reply

