The Rest Of Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

1909884_925640604156088_8822330900313453007_n.jpg

Alright people, this is one of those books where I could take it or leave it, but overall it was a good read.

The Rest Of Us Just Live Here is about four friends who are not the chosen ones and are not supposed to save the word. They leave that to Indie kids. So while the indie kids are battling and trying to save the world, these friends are just wanting to go to prom, graduate, and enjoy their last summer together.

The story is narrated by Mikey, who feels like he is always the least wanted person in the group, that he depends on and loves everyone more than they do him. He also gets stuck in these loops of washing his hands over and over until he can get it perfect or counting all of the telephone poles on his way to school.

This book was introduced to me as directed toward a middle school audience, and while the story is written in that style it deals with a lot of topics that I would not let my middle school siblings read. Mostly sex and random, unneccessary comments about sex. ugh.

Now I freaking love Patrick Ness, so so much, but I’m a little disappointed in this book. It just wasn’t wow for me.

One thing I really want to talk about is Mikey’s loops. I relate to Mikey so hard. So. Hard. 

Growing up I had to do everything multiple, multiple, strenuous times. I had to make sure I touched both feet on every line of a cross walk, I had to touch everything four times, I even had this thing where I couldn’t stop scrunching my nose. You can ask anybody in my family about this really weird period in my life. It was so weird and I have family photographs to prove it.

I also have always felt like the background character in the story of my friends’ lives. I wanted so much to be wanted and loved as much as I wanted and loved them. Then I grew up and realized it wasn’t all about me, but I still find myself struggling with the loops and the fear of being the least wanted.

Phew, now that I got that out I feel like I can get on with my life. Get on with my life. Get on with my life.

While I didn’t particularly enjoy this book and I can’t see myself recommending it to any of my friends I have to say that in this four-months I have lived in New York City I have never missed my train stop coming home. But I was on the last few chapters of this book and when I looked up I was way past my stop. I had to get off and get on the train going back towards home. So, it does get you sucked in haha.

I am going to end this review with one more thing:

Mikey’s best friend is the grandson of the god of cats. Need I say how amazing this is? I think not.

Alright you crazy animals, I’m outta here.

Leave a Reply

