Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

12234981_896406323746183_8421283837581304390_n

Love. Fear. Freedom. Sick. Pain

Madeline Whittier is seventeen years old. She has a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, also known as SCID, which basically means she is allergic to the world. For 16 years she is kept safe in her house and the only two people she sees are her mom and her nurse/best friend, Carla.

She is in her normal routine when a new family moves in next door. That’s when she sees Olly- black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap. She tries to ignore him and what he has stirred inside her, but at some point she has to face it.

They begin chatting online and playing charades through their bedroom windows. This story is about her falling in love for the first time and having to navigate and overcome her mom’s fear of letting someone from outside of her sterile bubble- in.

What I Loved

SCID is a very real thing and its cool getting to be transported into the life of someone who has SCID when people with SCID usually read to get a taste of the outside world. I like the development of the characters and how we get to be a part of falling in love for the first time.

Also, I can’t be the only one who was cheering her on in my head.

What I Didn’t Like As Much

The ending didn’t quite have the closure that I was hoping for, but it was every hopeless romantic’s dream.

Why I Recommend

I recommend this book as a cute, easy read that still has a nice plot arch. It doesn’t make you overly invested, but it’s not boring either.

My Favorite Quotes

“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.”

“Sometimes I reread my favorite books from back to front. I start with the last chapter and read backwards until I get to the beginning. When you read this way, characters go from hope to despair, from self-knowledge to doubt… your favorite characters come back to life.”

“You can’t predict the future. It turns out that you can’t predict the past either. Time moves in both directions- forward and backwards- and what happens here and now changes them both.”

“Promise- the lie you want to keep”

“My guilt is an ocean for me to drown in.”

Borrow or Bookshelf?

This is a book that you borrow and pass on. But if you do keep this one for your shelf I will not blame you. I mean seriously?! This book is pretty freaking gorgeous.

The Fun Stuff

Leave a Reply

